top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnna

Dear Malaysia...


so i am wrapping up my posts about my time in East Asia! but i thought i'd share some awesome and amazing media and last thoughts.

Dear Singapore is coming soon :)

Dear Malaysia...

thank you for giving me what i truly needed - even if that meant robbing me of what i would have wanted.

// power through prayer //

thank you for showing me how prayer moves, and how powerful it is when God's people turn to Him in prayer. within the course of no more than a couple hours, the chaos we felt in our hearts and in our situation turned around. You calmed those seas.

// people over project //

thank you for showing me the importance of connection and real relationships - even if that meant throwing things out the window to throw myself on the floor with the students.

// open hands //

thank you for showing me that Your ways are higher than mine and that You are in control. my head bowed, arms extended, palms up, heart open. i surrender. without Him, i am nothing.

// the breaking became the making //

thank you for showing me glimpses of Your love in the little moments. even though you brought crushing lies that damaged and fogged my outlook, i am now so much more secure and confident in who i am because of it.

// all things are possible with God //

thank you for showing me the fruit of not growing weary in doing good (gal. 6:9). we were able to make what was only a mere dream many months ago into an idea turned reality. mustard seed faith exploded and we were able to see hundreds come - all by the grace of God.

// He is our strength //

He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak (is. 40:29)

// laughter is the best medicine //

thank you for early-morning crazy brains and late-night low energy tanks that produce belly laughter.

// confluence //

it was during the coach ride into Kuala Lumpur that i learned the meaning of "Kuala Lumpur" -- "muddy confluence." confluence -- the process of merging (two rivers). thankful for the confluence of cultures and the strength, unity, and warmth it gave me.

terima kasih for all the other gazillion things - the big, and the little - that you brought into my life. some i cannot even name or craft into words yet i know they're there. Malaysia, you are beautiful. thank you for pruning away, cutting deep, and stripping me down. and thank you for all the beautiful souls you had me meet.

i miss you.

-A

[the first two videos are highlight reels from the Malaysia conference. they send me chills every single time; so blessed to have been a part of it. the video below is called Great Things, and is produced by the Words ALIVE chapter in Malaysia. it is an inspiring video about rising up above the status quo and doing great things. all are a must watch!]

44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Takeaways and Leave-behinds

Hey there! I am alive and well, though you haven't heard from me for a bit! It's hard to believe, but it has been a week since I left the beautiful lands of Asia. Upon arriving back, I have been adjus

bottom of page