top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnna

When "it is what it is" meets "I AM who I AM" // Day 3

(written today, October 24th; update on yesterday)

This adventure that God has called us on has been quite an adventure indeed! On Sunday night, we boarded our plane to Singapore. Some of us were tired but we were all very excited for the trip! However, God had other plans, because that flight ended up being delayed for 2 hours, and then cancelled. But God's grace has been sufficient to meet all our needs according to His glorious riches in Jesus Christ and I am writing this with joy, despite all that has gone on. And I know that that joy comes through the power of God and through the powerful work of prayer coming from all of you at home. I have been especially grateful for your prayers and encouragement, especially since Sunday night. They have meant so much to me, and to the team. I just wanted to hit a pause on my day and reflect a bit on what has happened.

Despite all the chaos in the midst... our team shared huddles of power-prayers that I now consider precious moments.

Despite not having dinner all night... the airline was apologetic and generously provided us with an abundance of snacks and vouchers, hotel stays for two nights, and transportation.

Despite spending about a full twelve hours at the airport... I got to appreciate the quietness and beautiful San Francisco airport (especially since Newark is my home airport!). SFO even has art exhibits from a San Francisco art museum! :))

Despite being bogged down physically by a heavy load throughout the day... I am thankful for back rubs and massages from friends. Having a physically heavy load to carry also reminded me of the Scripture - come to me all you who are weary and heavy laden, and I will give you rest.

We were blessed to be able to spend the day sightseeing at the San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, which I am sure we would not have been able to do otherwise. We had a delightful day visiting the Boudin Bakery, eating delicious sourdough, having dinner by the wharf, and window shopping. One of the highlights of the sightseeing (for me, at least!) was Lefty's - San Francisco's Left Hand Store! This is the coolest place ever... if you're a lefty, that is. ;)

I am also very thankful that I was able to watch my church's live stream Sunday morning. One of the phrases my pastor spoke about is taking our "it is what it is" and reframing it with who JESUS is -- the Great I AM. I have really seen that take formation within the past couple days. We started from discouragement, exhaustion, frustration, anxiety on Sunday night/Monday morning. Last night our team has taken pretty much a 180, as we have embraced His plan and purpose, and choosing joy. During our check-in last night, we all shared what we were grateful for. I looked around the circle huddle and saw how there was so much... as we all shared with smiling faces.

Thank you again for your prayers! They mean a lot. We will Lord-willing, be flying out tonight at 10:40pm Pacific Time for take 2 and arrive at Singapore on Thursday morning (Wednesday around 7pm Eastern time in the US)

I will see about sending a Day 4 update of today, but until then, stay tuned for Day 5 /6 sometime on Thursday!

Rejoice always. Pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God's will for you in Christ Jesus. 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

131 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page